like it's a religious belief. like hinduism.
maybe that's not too far off.
most religions have an element of theory at it's core, theoretically. something that is important and meaningful. i guess it's when philosophies branch out and into a religion, that i start to become skeptical.
sticking to the topic- like a used piece of tape, the kind of tape you find already being used for something else, but you need tape for the moment and some used, slightly sticky tape, is better than no tape at all- i'm trying out a new vegetarian theory. the word vegetarian is a very poor word for describing what i'm trying to do, but i don't know any other words to use.
i'm talking about fucking, watching what you put in your mouth. watching what you feed yourself. being very concerned what is in these animals that we're eating, not so much as for the fact that we're eating an animal. there are more and more convincing reasons to not eat meat lately, for me. the reasons only became apparent once i listened to a very upset punk/metal/indie/i don't care what to call him, singer from Propaghandi.
it came in a simple explaination: why not resort to cannibalism? why don't we eat each other? well we go down the roads like 1. "it' s not healthy" and/or 2. "we are spiritual and would be defiling the soul".
1. we could totally cook human meat to a degree that was safe. it's stupid to think otherwise. an interesting idea in all aspects to me. it's fine to take a scientific stance to it. but i'm pretty sure we can eat each other safely. this may be disturbing to some. why? because we have faces? and names? interesting tidbit: we call a pig's flesh, Pork meat. we call thymus and pancreatic glands "sweetbreads". how endearing. science would say it's great to eat each other. the closer related the animal, the better it is to eat. it's less work for our bodies to do the converting. so i thought about this. challenge meat eaters to eat their pets instead of buying shitty chicken breasts at wal-mart. at least you take good care of your pets. you know what you've been feeding them.
2. are we spiritual? really? animals have no souls but we do? this whole planet has life on every fucking corner of it and we're the only ones that are something special? nah. i saw a fox on my hike a few weeks ago. there was no way i'd say i was more spiritual than him. maybe if i drugged him and tossed him in a lab, my results would show that Fox's do not scientifically contain a spirit like Homo Sapians clearly do. but that's just more bullshit. drug me and put me in a lab, do tests on me to see if i have a soul. your results will be as rediculous as whatever the procedure is.
so despite this whole rant, science and spirit aside, the issue is: do i eat animals or not. and if i do eat animals, would i eat a human.
-i'm reluctant to eat a human, so therefore, i feel there is some reason (deeper, that i still can't put my finger on) to not eat animals.
-if it comes down to real survival, i'll have no problem eating human or animal meat.
is there something to be said about the respect or lack of respect for slaughtering animals these days. i would feel better buying the meat of a cow that a farmer took care in feeding and watched over. feeding the cow real, natural food, watching the cow grow in a natural, free way. i feel that the respectful farmer would care about how the cow died. a farmer that names each cow and personally kills each one. i'll eat that cow. and be thankful.
is this showing the difference yet? compared to the frozen mcdonald's patty that has the splooge of satan in it? where money is the factor. and taste is secondary, and solved with money and chemicals. the cow here is no longer even an animal but an equation. put this into the cow, you get this. and it tastes bad, so put in this. and that. and add a fuckin clown and toy.
i hate mcdonalds.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment