Search This Blog

Saturday, January 15, 2011

irony

 Irony is funny.

It's getting old though. I motion for sincerity to be the new irony. Why? Irony provides dumb people an excuse to do whatever the fuck they want, and say "oh, it's soooo irony". No. Stop it dumb people. You're doing it wrong. Irony shouldn't be a tool for backpedaling your way out of your stupid corner. I don't like how you can insulate yourselves from any argument by saying it's ironic. You're not fooling everyone anymore.

BTW, What the fuck do you actually think? Do you have real thoughts? Do you ACTUALLY like ANYTHING at all? I'm taking aim at the hipsters with this one folks.

I'm not the only one to find this all very frustrating. So does Kierkegaard. Søren believes that irony is "infinite, absolute negativity" and that too much irony encourages one to "swallow one's own stomach". Irony entails endless reflection and violent reversals, and ensures incomprehensibility at the moment it compels speech. It can cause confusion and is not always understood. My problem is with an overuse of irony, not irony itself.

Sarcasm is my favourite form of comedy. The surface meaning, and the actual intended meaning are opposite, and therefore, hilarious. Sometimes people just don't get sarcasm. Sometimes that's their own problem. Sometimes it is better to say something with earnest honest speech. Sometimes that gets boring. I would find it refreshing to curb the irony and focus on some genuine enthusiasm, despite my love for sarcasm. I find the funny shit in life are things that are funny because they're true.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

kanye west


Kanye West hates white people.
Just kidding. Probs not. I can appriciate that he felt the need to apologize for his outbursts in the past
see this is the poorly thought out but very ballsy speech a few years ago if you forgot .
Just... turn off your Caps Lock. It doesn't make you sound more sincere if I feel you're yelling it.

Anyways, he does make a really impressive album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy when he has real substance to write on. Not that his other albums sucked. (Did you know that "808's and Heartbreak", his 2008 album was mostly done with the Roland TR-808 Drum Machine? I recently acquired a Roland MC-307 Drum Machine from my friend Ryan. It is not the same at all. It kinda sux. But maybe I'll be like Kanye one day... *starry-eyed gaze upward*. Cough.) Anyways.I mean he probably had a lot of help from the likes of a shit-ton of people, (Drake, The-Dream, Dwele, Fergie, Elton John, Alicia Keys, Kid Cudi, Ken Lewis, John Legend, Ryan Leslie, Nicki Minaj, Khloe Mitchell, Rihanna, Chris Rock, Amber Rose, Gil Scott-Heron, Teyana Taylor, Justin "Bon Iver" Vernon, Charlie Wilson, Jay-Z, RZA, etc.) but who doesn't.

I'm beginning to think you're dumb if you don't acquire help from other like-minded colleagues and peers in your industry.

He made a fresh and brilliant album and say what fudge you will about that fucker, he's good at promotions and publicity. He made videos for just about every song on the album that actually have some serious content to them. It's a long series (1/2h if I recall correctly) and the videos all have a common theme. A bird woman thing. Seriously.

His songs are well composed and thought out. There is variety and sincerity.

Anyways, thanks Yeasy for not making a sucky album this time (stay away from that 808). Also, thank you for being honest about the George Bush and Taylor Swift thing. I respect your opinions, but your delivery needs some work if you want people to take you seriously now. Just keep using the auto-tune sparingly, and clean up the new album with Jay-Z. I'm RLY concerned by the first single. Like, I get that you can spit, but what's that background noise? Music? Are you shitting me?