It's getting old though. I motion for sincerity to be the new irony. Why? Irony provides dumb people an excuse to do whatever the fuck they want, and say "oh, it's soooo irony". No. Stop it dumb people. You're doing it wrong. Irony shouldn't be a tool for backpedaling your way out of your stupid corner. I don't like how you can insulate yourselves from any argument by saying it's ironic. You're not fooling everyone anymore.
BTW, What the fuck do you actually think? Do you have real thoughts? Do you ACTUALLY like ANYTHING at all? I'm taking aim at the hipsters with this one folks.
I'm not the only one to find this all very frustrating. So does Kierkegaard. Søren believes that irony is "infinite, absolute negativity" and that too much irony encourages one to "swallow one's own stomach". Irony entails endless reflection and violent reversals, and ensures incomprehensibility at the moment it compels speech. It can cause confusion and is not always understood. My problem is with an overuse of irony, not irony itself.
Sarcasm is my favourite form of comedy. The surface meaning, and the actual intended meaning are opposite, and therefore, hilarious. Sometimes people just don't get sarcasm. Sometimes that's their own problem. Sometimes it is better to say something with earnest honest speech. Sometimes that gets boring. I would find it refreshing to curb the irony and focus on some genuine enthusiasm, despite my love for sarcasm. I find the funny shit in life are things that are funny because they're true.


